Alex Kurt July 12, 2012 TWEET COMMENTS 0

Hardrock 100-Mile Endurance Run Preview - Page 2

photo courtesy of Bryon Powell/irunfar.com

On the men’s side, observers excited for a rematch of the 2010 Western States 100 between Anton Krupicka and Geoff Roes were disappointed when both athletes withdrew their entries. But last year’s runner-up, Dakota Jones (2011 champ Julien Chorier is not entered this year), is returning and hoping to improve his finish. This spring, Jones (pictured above) of Durango, Colorado, has already won the Lake Sonoma 50 Mile in April and the Transvulcania Ultramarathon in May.

Also contending for the men’s title will be Karl Meltzer of Sandy, Utah, who won Hardrock in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006 and 2009. In 2009 he ran the second-fastest time ever on the course, which is the course record in the counter-clockwise direction. The course alternates between clockwise and counter-clockwise each year; this year it will be run clockwise.

Other contenders among the men include Hal Koerner of Ashland, Oregon, who beat Meltzer at the Rocky Raccoon 100 Mile in February, and Adam Campbell of Victoria, British Columbia, who won the Chuckanut 50K in March.

Only one runner has ever finished the course in under 24 hours: Kyle Skaggs, who clocked a smoking 23:23:30 in 2008.

iRunFar will have live coverage of the race on twitter. Follow @irunfar or go to twitter.com/irunfar for in-race updates.


Add comment

Security code